This Runner Eats

I love playing around with nutrition to find just the right thing to fuel my run.  Here are a couple of my  faves:

The night before: My current obsession?  Quinoa.  Or, as my sister’s family calls it, Keen-Wow.  Wow indeed. As if a super grain packed with protein isn’t enough to convince you to give this quirky little superfood a shot, let me add that it’s also ready in 15 minutes.  Yes, 15 minutes. All those hours lost waiting for brown rice to cook are behind me–I have my new go-to grain.  While it’s great on its own with minimal seasoning, I’m working my way through an endless bag from Costco, so I’ve had to get a little creative in an effort to keep things exciting.  Inspired by this recipe on Sparkpeople.com, I present a quinoa-packed version of one of my favorite dishes–quiche.

Ingredients

1/2 c dry quinoa

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 tsp minced garlic

2 cups chopped fresh spinach

1 cup skim milk

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 cup Asiago cheese

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

4 large eggs or equal substitute (I use 3 eggs & 1/4 c Egg Beaters egg whites

What to do with it all?
Preheat oven to 350* Add quinoa & 1 cup water to 1 qt sauce pan and bring to a boil.  Cover and simmer until water is absorbed (approx 15 minutes).  Heat olive oil in skillet and saute onions.  Add garlic and spinach and mix until spinach is wilted.  Remove from heat.  In a separate bowl, whisk milk, eggs, and cayenne pepper.  Add milk mixture and cooked quinoa to the spinach mixture and stir until combined.  Pour entire mixture into greased (I use olive oil cooking spray) pie plate, and top with cheese.  Cover with foil (also coated with cooking spray) and bake for 35 minutes.

Post run recovery: I didn’t think anything could beat my tradition of a tall glass of  chocolate milk minutes after returning from a long Saturday morning run.  Then I got a Magic Bullet.  Then I tried protein powder.  My life has never been the same.  Seriously, my mouth is watering just thinking about it.  I present my favorite protein shake.  So basic, so delicious:

Ingredients

3/4 c skim milk

1/4 c old fashioned oats

1 scoop chocolate whey protein

1/4 c banana or frozen cherries (Don’t make me choose a favorite, I don’t think I could)

1/4 c ice

What to do with it all?

Add ingredients to blending appliance of choice.  Blend.  Drink.  Enjoy.  Have fun with the ingredients to make it your own.  Add peanut butter, remove the oats (some people might not like the nutty, gritty flavor they add), try different fruits, etc…

This entry was posted in This Runner Eats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

