Running Down a Dream

Until yesterday, I had never brought an iPod along on a race.  I know there are strong opinions on both sides of the issue, but I’m of the thinking that it’s personal preference.  Tune in or tune out, I don’t care.  Whatever gets you across the finish line.  In the midst of suffering through a particularly grueling couple of miles in the KC Half last October, all I could think about was how I could use a little Full Moon Fever to get me through.  At that moment I vowed to bring my trusty Nano Smalls along on the next race (if the rules allow of course!).

So in the week leading up to yesterday’s Rock the Parkway (full race report coming soon), I confessed to my sister who would be running with me that I would like to bring tunes along.  Though this would be her first Half, she agreed the perfect playlist would be a great way to, as she put it, “get out of her head,” during the rough spots.

With appearances from .38 Special, Garth, Too Short, and MJ, my own perfect playlist was a spectacular mix of tunes holding meaning from various moments in my life.  I present the five tracks that made this 13.1 even more memorable:

Running Down a Dream, Tom Petty: Before you scream “cliche!,” hear me out–I looooove me some Tom Petty.  As in, I own every album, have seen him 7 times in concert and will never ever tire of the sound of his voice.  Ironically, this is one of my least favorite songs of his.  However, when going for a race playlist, how could I not include?  This kicked in around mile 7 through the beautiful Loose Park area.  Running down a dream indeed.

Single Ladies, Beyonce: Confession–I can’t stand Beyonce.  I’m sure she’s a nice gal, I’m just not a fan of her music.  Or I wasn’t until I listened to my then 2 year old singing along to Single Ladies at the top of her lungs from the backseat of my Jeep.   On the list it went, bringing a smile to my face around mile 11 and making me think of my Ellie girl jumping around on her bed, shaking her hand, and shouting “put a ring on it” over and over.

Talk Dirty to Me, Poison: Full reveal here, this was my favorite song…in 2nd grade.  No, I had no idea what the lyrics meant, but I loved singing along, thought CC Deville was cute (was I crazy?!), and to this day think of my fabulous childhood every time I hear it. Making its debut in the early miles, I couldn’t help but think of the fact that 8-year-old me probably never thought I’d be running 13.1 along with CC and the gang.

Hypnotize, The Notorious B.I.G: If Biggie doesn’t pump you it, I don’t know what will.  During my KU days this was on frequent rotation in the Mass St apartment I shared with three other gals.  We’d listen to this as we got ready to hit the town.  Ten+ years later it was the perfect song to help me run the town.

Hash Pipe, Weezer: This is just a great tune. Good beat, fun lyrics, and who doesn’t like Weezer? It gets a special shout out for kicking in just as I approached the finish line, forever taking up a spot in memory as the final tune in my favorite race to date.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running Down a Dream

  1. Tom Petty wishes he could “bring it” like your “old man!

Leave a Reply

