This Runner Eats, vol 2

In addition to the lovely racing weather @ RTP, another huge running variable came through for me big time that day: my nutrition plan.  I will preface this by saying that I made the mother of all no-nos that day–I tried something new the morning of the race.  I know, I know, I can hear the gasps from the crowd.  However, I constantly struggle with the perfect pre-run / pre-race meal and was desperate to give something else a shot.  The virgin ingredient debuting just hours before the race? Coconut water.  See, that’s not so shocking.  Of all the nutritional curveballs I could have thrown, that one was pretty mild. Lucky for me, it all turned out alright.  Perfect even. 

A fan of protein shakes post-run, I was curious how they would serve me pre-run as well.  I have a pretty unreliable stomach when I run hard, so the idea of an easily digestible breakfast a couple hours before gun time sounded like the perfect Rx.  The problem?  I like a milk-based shake and something told me my sensitive stomach would not appreciate that 3/4 cup of dairy around mile 9.  In walks coconut water.  As neutral on my tummy as regular H20, but with serious hydrating benefits to boot.  My new secret weapon:

12 oz coconut water

1 scoop chocolate whey protein

1 frozen banana

2 oz tart cherry juice

What to do with it all?  Blend.  Enjoy.  Run your ass off.  How easy was that?

This entry was posted in This Runner Eats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

